Real Salt Lake

Real Salt Lake became Major League Soccer's twelfth team upon their expansion into the league in 2004 after the demise of the Miami Fusion and the Tampa Bay Mutiny. Founded in 2004, the club signed MLS legends and built anticipation of its home city of Sandy, Utah, a suburb of Salt Lake City playing its games in Rio Tinto Stadium.

Despite a veteran squad and enthusiastic fan base, the club saw frustrating results in its first few seasons. The club began see glimmers of success in 2008 after finishing 3rd in the Western Conference, the highest ever, ad advancing to the semi-finals of the MLS Cup. The club saw their efforts pay off fully in 2009 after becoming champions in defeating the favorites LA Galaxy in penalties in the MLS Cup Final. Notable players to wear a Real Salt Lake jersey include Clint Mathis, Eddie Pope, Freddy Adu, and Jason Kries.

The official colors of Real Salt Lake include claret red, cobalt blue, and Real gold. The name "Real" comes from the Spanish word Real meaning "Royal" that is used in some of Spain's top club names. It has earned the squad the nickname of "the Royals". Real Salt Lake shares a rivalry with the Colorado Rapid, with whom they compete with for the annual Rocky Mountain Cup.

Rio Tinto Stadium - Sandy, UT

Why Join Us?

We combine great social networking and excellent content, all in one place!

  • Interests

    Choose the interests you want to follow
  • Community

    Connect with friends and other sports fans
  • Content

    News, Views, Equipment Reviews, Contests & Deals
Join Now

Are you a coach?