DC United

DC United is a charter club of Major League Soccer, having been a part of the league from its foundation. It is considered the "flagship franchise" f Major League Soccer, winning twelve domestic and international titles. They play their home games in RFK Stadium, which is located in the nation' capital, Washington DC.

DC United has been the most successful club in the league, winning the MLS Cup a record of four times, while placing first in the Eastern Conference four times as well. They have won the US Open cup in both 1996 and 2008. They have also won the CONCACAF Champions Cup once, in 1998, as well as placing 3rd in 1999. They have a very loyal fan base, some of which are referred to as the "Seaming Eagles" From the onset, it was apparent that DC United was going to be a league power house. After winning the MLS Cup in 1996 and then beating the Rochester Rhinos to win the US Open Cup, DC United became Major League Soccer' first team win a "double". Notable former players include Marco Etcheverry, Jeff Agoos, Eddie Pope, Ben Olson, and Luciano Emilio.

The clubs primary colors are red, white, and black, and the club emblem's focal point is a Bald Eagle, in honor of America. Club rivalries include Eastern Conference powerhouses New York Red Bulls and the Chicago Fire.

RFK Stadium - Washington, DC

Why Join Us?

We combine great social networking and excellent content, all in one place!

  • Interests

    Choose the interests you want to follow
  • Community

    Connect with friends and other sports fans
  • Content

    News, Views, Equipment Reviews, Contests & Deals
Join Now

Are you a coach?