Columbus Crew

The Columbus Crew, founded in 1994, is based out Columbus, Ohio. They are considered a ?Character Club? of the MLS, having competed in the league since its founding. The Crew competes in Columbus Crew Stadium- the first soccer specific stadium built by an MLS franchise. The name ?Crew? came from a local fan contest which is intended to represent the blue collar image that the city of Columbus has.

The Columbus Crew has been one of Major League Soccer?s more successful clubs, winning the U.S. Open Cup in 2002 and the MLS Cup Final in 2008. They also won Eastern Conference regular season championships in 2004, 2008, and 2009. The Crew have had a number of notable players including John Harkes, Frankie Hejduk, Brad Friedel, and Eddie Buddle. The Crew was awarded the first overall pick in the 1996 MLS Inaugural Draft, picking Brian McBride.

The Columbus Crew almost exclusively wears their solid gold kit, seldom opting for their black alternate. The strong favor for the all gold ?banana kit? has earned them the nickname of the ?Fighting Canaries?.

Columbus Crew Stadium - Columbus, OH

Why Join Us?

We combine great social networking and excellent content, all in one place!

  • Interests

    Choose the interests you want to follow
  • Community

    Connect with friends and other sports fans
  • Content

    News, Views, Equipment Reviews, Contests & Deals
Join Now

Are you a coach?