Community Shield

The FA Community Shield evolved from the Sheriff of London Charity Shield that had been introduced in 1898/99 as a professionals versus amateurs cup. In 1908 the FA Charity Shield, as it was known at the time, replaced the Sheriff of London Charity Shield after leading amateur clubs fell out with the FA. The revised format was to have the Football League First Division champions play the Southern League champions. The first match with Manchester United, who had just become Football League champions for the first time, beat Southern League champions Queens Park Rangers to win the first-ever Shield fixture. United won 4-0 after a 1-1 draw, with both matches being played at Stamford Bridge. No Shield match has ever been replayed since.

Format of the Game

The competition format varied over the years until 1930 when it was declared that the Football League winner would play the FA Cup winner, and with a few exceptions, this format has remained to the present day. It is equivalent to the Super Cups found in many countries. Notable exceptions include the 1950 Shield, which involved the England World Cup team against an FA team that had toured Canada that summer, and the 1961 Shield, when Tottenham Hotspur became the first team of the 20th century to win the Double. As they won both trophies, they instead faced a Football Association XI.

In 1974 the then FA secretary, Ted Croker, created the current format with the match always being played at Wembley Stadium and the money raised at the gate going to charity. While Wembley acted as host, from 1974 to 2000, well over £5 million was distributed to charities by The FA, most of them nominated by the competing clubs.

The game is decided on the day with penalty shoot-out if the score is level after 90 minutes (no extra time is played). However, between 1949 and 1993 the Shield was usually shared if the game was drawn. Furthermore, unlike a normal competitive game, teams are allowed six, rather than three substitutions.

With the formation of a new top league, from the 1993 competition onwards the FA Premier League, the Shield became a match between the Premier League champion and FA Cup winners.

Due to the reconstruction of Wembley Stadium, Charity/Community Shield matches took place at the Millennium Stadium, Cardiff from 2001 to 2006 inclusive. The 2001 fixture between Liverpool and Manchester United was the first Charity Shield match to take place under an enclosed roof.

In 2002, the competition was renamed the Community Shield following a small scandal surrounding questionable distribution of money raised for charities by the match. This renaming formed part of a reform of the competition and Arsenal were the first winners of the Community Shield with a 1 - 0 victory over Liverpool.

Why Join Us?

We combine great social networking and excellent content, all in one place!

  • Interests

    Choose the interests you want to follow
  • Community

    Connect with friends and other sports fans
  • Content

    News, Views, Equipment Reviews, Contests & Deals
Join Now

Are you a coach?